Shared Address on Google Maps
Shared address on Google Maps goes beyond a simple navigation app and incorporates different functions to maintain its advantage over other browsers.
Among them, the possibility of sharing the exact location in real-time with your contacts stands out. But, of course, we already knew how to do it on Facebook Messenger, and now it’s time to learn how to do it on Google Maps.
The truth is that Google Maps is constantly being updated. Proof of this is that it recently incorporated alerts for weather phenomena, warnings if the taxi left the fastest route or functions such as the speedometer or radar warnings we had seen before in Waze.
The benefit of Google Maps for Shared Address Google Maps
Beyond sharing your location with a contact at a specific time, Google Maps allows you to do it permanently so that they know where you are at all times as you move. Although logically, it may have a controversial use in monitoring and controlling other people, it does add extra security.
Keep in mind that when you do this, the contacts you share your location will know where you are until you decide to deactivate the option. That being said, you must follow the following steps to activate it:
- Open Google Maps on your mobile if you don’t have to download it and wait for it to geolocate you, at which point it will show you a blue dot locating your location on the map.
- Select the three horizontal lines in the upper left corner to click the Options panel.
- Select the ‘Share location’ option.
At that time, a window will open to share your location in real-time with family and friends, so they can see where you are at all times.
- Click on Start.
- You will see a new window asking you if you want to allow Maps to access your contacts. Click on Allow.
- You can share your location for a particular time or do it constantly until you deactivate this option. By default, you will see the ‘For one hour’ option activated, although you can add or subtract hours by clicking on the ‘-‘ or ‘+’ symbols.
- Choose the contact(s) with whom you want to share your location. If the connection does not have their account connected to a Google account, Google maps will send a link to their email account. You can also select to send this link via WhatsApp or Telegram.
How do I Activate it Again?
Again it asks if you want to share the location. Click on ‘Activate’. When you do, you’ll create a unique link to share your accurate location with the person you want to send it to.
From that moment, all the people to whom you have sent the link with your location will be able to see your situation on the map with your name and the address where you are, in addition to the embodiment that you use in your Google account, which moving while you do.
How to Disable the Shared Address on Google Maps?
If you have chosen to share your location constantly, you can remove it anytime. However, it would help if you went to the same ‘Share location’ menu to do this.
You will see two new tabs, one at the top where you will see the icons of the contacts with someone with whom you have shared the data, while at the bottom, you will see the names next to an ‘X’. Just click on it to disable the option. These people from your content will no longer be able to see the location on Google Maps.